

Mr Josep Borrell Fontelles High Representative/Vice President

Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 200, 1049 Brussels

- by email -

Brussels, 8 April 2024

Situation of Political Prisoner and Sakharov Laureate Oleg Orlov

Dear High Representative,

We, the undersigned Members of the European Parliament, are extremely alarmed by the news that we receive about the situation of Oleg Orlov – founder of the legendary Russian organization Memorial, most recently a Director of the Human Rights Center Memorial which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2022.

Mr Orlov, a political prisoner prosecuted for his anti-war stance and support for democracy and human rights, is expecting a review of his previous sentence of 2.5 years. Due to the bad conditions in remand custody, Mr Orlov has developed a serious health condition. Due to the order of the judge obliging him against his will to spend every day in court to read his files, he has been consistently denied a right to consult with doctors and receive the necessary treatment. The result is that he risks enduring a hearing loss and other irreversible damages.

Beyond this, he has been continuously prevented from unhindered and confidential exchange with his attorneys, the latter being only allowed to ask him specific questions related to his case and only in the presence of police.

We call on you, esteemed High Representative to do the outmost possible to support Oleg Orlov. We urge you to instruct the representation of the European Union in Russia to closely follow the case and exert pressure on the Russian authorities in order to restore the minimal procedural safeguards and secure Orlovs health and life.

In 2009 Oleg Orlov, representing his organization Memorial, received the Sakharov Prize at the European Parliament. Trying to help him save his health and bodily integrity is the least we owe him and his numerous colleagues and supporters.

Sincerely,

Reinhard Bütikofer MEP (Greens/EFA) Sergey Lagodinsky MEP (Greens/EFA) Petras Auštrevičius MEP (Renew Europe) Marek Balt MEP (S&D)

Fabio Massimo Castaldo MEP (Renew Europe)

Anna Cavazzini MEP (Greens/EFA)

Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz MEP (S&D)

Matthias Ecke MEP (S&D)

Romeo Franz MEP (Greens/EFA)

Daniel Freund MEP (Greens/EFA)

Bart Groothuis MEP (Renew Europe)

Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana MEP (Greens/EFA)

Rasa Juknevičienė MEP (EPP)

Assita Kanko MEP (ECR)

Andrey Kovatchev MEP (EPP)

Zdzisław Krasnodębski MEP (ECR)

Andrius Kubilius MEP (EPP)

Miapetra Kumpula-Natri MEP (S&D)

Miriam Lexmann MEP (EPP)

Karen Melchior MEP (Renew Europe)

Hannah Neumann MEP (Greens/EFA)

Jan-Christoph Oetjen MEP (Renew Europe)

Urmas Paet MEP (Renew Europe)

Bronis Ropė MEP (Greens/EFA)

Michaela Šojdrová MEP (EPP)

Jordi Solé MEP (Greens/EFA)

Hilde Vautmans MEP (Renew Europe)

Witold Waszczykowski MEP (ECR)