



Honourable President,

By this letter, we wish to bring to your attention certain issues concerning the sponsored groups of visitors to the European Parliament, arising from the coronavirus pandemic.

We all agree that visitors groups are of great importance. They lead to more transparency and are instrument to communicate the European project into member states. They make the EU institutions tangible and link the European project with personal stories.

Almost 80,000 people are visiting the Parliament in Brussels or Strasbourg each year through the MEPs' contingents. In total, around 450,000 people visit the institution each year.

Since the Corona shutdown in March, visitors were no longer allowed. Although it has not yet been communicated, it can be assumed that visitor groups will still not be admitted after the parliamentary summer recess.

That is why we, the undersigned MEPs, believe that the right signal would be to carry over the quotas from 2020 to 2021 and make next year a year of extraordinary transparency.

Yours sincerely,

The undersigned Members of the European Parliament

CC: The Quaestors of the European Parliament

Erik Marquardt, Greens/EFA
Victor Negrescu, S&D
Moritz Körner, Renew
Grace O'Sullivan, Greens/EFA
Alex Agius Saliba, S&D
Pierrette Herzberger-Fofana, Greens/EFA
Eva Maydell, EPP
Giorgos Georgiou, GUE/NGL
Frédérique Ries, Renew
Charles Goerens, Renew
Martin Häusling, Greens/EFA

Milan Brglez, S&D

Terry Reintke, Greens/EFA

Niels Fuglsang, S&D

Sven Giegold, Greens/EFA

Saskia Bricmont, Greens/EFA

Helmut Geuking, ECR

Cornelis Bos, ECR

Gabriele Bischoff, S&D

Cristina Maestre, S&D

Reinhard Bütikofer, Greens/EFA

Alice Kuhnke, Greens/EFA

Pär Holmgren, Greens/EFA

Jakop Dalunde, Greens/EFA

Predrag Fred Matić, S&D

Nikolaj Villumsen, GUE/NGL

Caroline Roose, Greens/EFA

Michael Bloss, Greens/EFA

Pernille Weiss, EPP

Clare Daly, GUE/NGL

Rasmus Andresen, Greens/EFA

Alexandra Geese, Greens/EFA

Nicola Danti, Renew

Samira Rafaela, Renew

Daniel Freund, Greens/EFA

Franc Bogovič, EPP

Nils Torvalds, Renew

Christophe Grudler, Renew

Anne-Sophie Pelletier, GUE/NGL

Henrike Hahn, Greens/EFA

Marianne Vind, S&D

Francisco Guerreiro, Greens/EFA

Monika Vana, Greens/EFA

Mick Wallace, GUE/NGL

Brando Benifei, S&D

Sara CERDAS, S&D

Damian Boeselager, Greens/EFA

Annie Schreijer-Pierik, EPP

Karen Melchior, Renew

Jutta Paulus, Greens/EFA

Niklas Nienaß, Greens/EFA

Biljana Borzan, S&D

Francois Alfonsi, Greens/EFA

Franco Roberti, S&D

Marek Belka, S&D

Lukas Mandl, EPP

Hannah Neumann, Greens/EFA

Salima Yenbou, Greens/EFA

Andreas Schieder, S&D Ivars Ijabs, Renew Hilde Vautmans, Renew Alexis Georgoulis, GUE/NGL Svenja Hahn, Renew Andrey Novakov, EPP Martin Sonneborn, N.I. Tilly Metz, Greens/EFA